Posted by: portersprospectreport | September 20, 2008

Jay Bruce is BACK!

Is he in a bomb shelter in this picture?
Is he in a bomb shelter in this picture?

First, let me apologize for my lack of content over the last few days.  My laptop is having issues and jockeying for time on the home computer is challenging.  Nonetheless, I remain dedicated to providing top-quality and relevant material in this great market that we love.

I am writing this post with great joy as I get to say “I told you so” about a prediction that I made in an earlier post.  In the post, I predicted that the then struggling Jay Bruce would go on a tear in September finishing the season strong.  It appears that Mr. Bruce is doing exactly that, hitting 2 HR’s last night to increase his season total to 21.  Bruce is hitting .298 and has 7 HR and 11 RBI in the month of September.  Additionally, he has 9 walks (a season’s best for a month) and is cutting down his strikeouts. 

Superstardom is on the horizon for the 21 year old masher and his cards are selling for about 40% of what they peaked at after his sterling debut.  Bowman Chrome Draft RC’s can be found regularly for $6-8 which, to me seems like a solid buy.  2009 will be Bruce’s first full season with the Reds, and there is no reason why we can’t expect him to hit 30-35 HR as a 22 year old.

Responses

  1. Which is scary being he is only 22 which means by the time he is 26 we could be looking at another adam dun with a better average.


Leave a Reply

Categories

